Abby Lane

By Celina Tennant

The brisk walk my sister, Jenna, and I took from Park Street Station to Abby Lane was a straight shot down Tremont and luckily the restaurant wasn’t as extremely crowded as I can imagine it is on the night of a show. Located directly across from the Wang Theatre, Abby Lane is ideal for show-goers and foodies alike.

The first thing I noticed was the open kitchen on the far wall of the restaurant. Restaurants with open kitchen floor plans speak volumes to the confidence and badassery of their chefs and their food. Everything is exposed and it’s beautiful! They also have a nice bar across the back with a few TVs and a staircase leading up to a private function room.

Jenna and I had an immediate agreement to start with the Prosciutto & Burrata Board (below) at $16. We don’t usually see eye-to-eye on many things, but cheese plates are never an argument. This dish had a perfect balance of every taste and texture – the grilled flavor and crispiness of the garlic bread was evident, along with the creamy burrata, the freshness of the arugula, the saltiness of the prosciutto, and the sweetness of the candied fruit. If you put all of these things together with a drop of evoo, you’ll have heavenly perfection.

IMG_8942.JPG

As we were finishing our starter, I could see that the table behind us had received a couple of dishes from the Appetizers & Small Plates portion of the menu, including the Sesame Seared Rare Ahi Tuna and the Fried Fish Tacos. This was the point where I wished that I somehow had four stomachs and could have tasted the entire menu.

For our entrees, I ordered the Baby Kale & Brussels Sprouts Caesar (below) for $14 and Jenna went for the Pizza Steak for $17. The first thing I noticed when my dish was put in front of me was the perfectly cooked soft-boiled egg, which was the main reason why I chose that salad! I’m a sucker for a runny yolk and this salad did not disappoint. The dressing was tangy and the marinated tomatoes were an excellent partner to the fresh taste of the kale and chickpeas. I didn’t get many Brussels sprouts in my salad, but let’s be honest, the huge slices of sharp provolone made up for it, and so I was happy.

IMG_8943.JPG

Jenna mentioned that her Pizza Steak (below) was “messy and yummy,” which was apparent by her plate when she was finished, with only two slices left and bits of food dropped all over. Being the good sport that she is, we switched plates halfway through our meals and I was able to taste hers as well. The Pizza Steak had a thick, creamy sauce as the base, steak, arugula, roasted red peppers, and crispy onion straws on top.

IMG_8944

Of course, this being a special occasion (writing for my first blog post, what am I doing??), we were obligated to get the Warm Cinnamon Donuts for dessert at $10. The only way to describe these is as fluffy pillows of heaven rolled in cinnamon and sugar and deep-fried. The donuts were accompanied by a Strawberry Grand Marnier Jam, a Hazelnut Cream, and a Dark Chocolate Syrup.

Screen Shot 2017-05-29 at 11.29.54 AM

Overall, my first restaurant visit was a success and I would go back to Abby Lane in a heartbeat. Whether just for drinks and appetizers or for multiple orders of donuts!

255 Tremont St, Boston, MA 02116

Abby Lane

4 comments

Leave a Reply

